Pink Full Moon Thursday: What Time And Where To Catch April's Lunar Eclipse

By iScienceTimes Staff on April 23, 2013 10:14 AM EDT

Partial lunar eclipse
The next lunar eclipse is on April 25, 2013, a partial eclipse that will be visible in the Eastern Hemisphere, not the Western. (Photo: NASA)

The much-awaited pink full moon will arrive on Thursday, according to reports, via a lunar eclipse. Here, you can find out what time to catch the pink full moon on Thursday, how long the eclipse is and how everything will progress until it's all over.

THE PINK MOON ISN'T REALLY PINK

First thing's first: Don't take Thursday's pink full moon literally. In other words, don't expect the moon to actually be pink when the eclipse occurs, but rather look the way it always has: yellowish-white.

Like Us on Facebook

Traditionally, the full moon of April is called the "pink moon" because it references the grass pink or wild ground phlox which is one of the earliest widespread flowers of the spring season, according to Space.com. Other names given for the eclipse taking place on April 25 were the Full Sprouting Grass Moon, the Egg Moon and -- among coastal tribes -- the Full Fish Moon, when the shad come upstream to spawn.

PRIME GEOGRAPHICAL VIEWING LOCATIONS

If you live in Europe, Africa, Asia or Australia, you will be able to see the moon undergo a very slight partial lunar eclipse, which means that the Earth's shadow will only partially block the sun's light, which otherwise reflects off the moon.

If you're in the Western Hemisphere, though, you're out of luck since the actual instant of full moon occurs on Thursday afternoon when the moon is below the horizon.

THE ECLIPSE'S PROGRESS

If you're in the proper area to view the "pink" moon on Thursday, the eclipse will begin a little after 2:00 p.m. EDT.

2:04 p.m. EDT (1804 GMT) -- The moon begins to meet the Earth's shadow.

3:30 p.m. EDT (1920 GMT) -- During the first 110-minutes of the eclipse, the moon's northern hemisphere gradually pushes into the Earth's subtle, partial shadow, called the penumbra. Space.com notes that, by this time, you may realize you are starting to detect the "ever-so-slight gradient of a soft grey darkening around the top of the moon."

3:54 p.m. EDT (1954 GMT) -- The moon's northern (upper) limb finally makes contact with a much more distinct shadow known as the blackish-brown umbra. This chord of shadow "grows and retreats" on the moon over a span of less than half an hour

4:07 p.m. EDT (2007 GMT) -- The partial eclipse will reach its peak as 1.48 percent of the moon's diameter will be immersed the in the Earth's umbral shadow. The moon's northern limb literally grazes the umbral shadow until 4:21 p.m. EDT (2021 GMT).

4:21 p.m. EDT (2021 GMT) -- You will likely notice when you glance up that the uppermost part of the disk of the moon will appear smudged or tarnished.

5 p.m. EDT (2100 GMT) -- The above effect will probably fade away by around this time with the moon appearing as its normal self.

6:11 p.m. EDT (2211 GMT) -- Officially, the moon will not completely free itself from the outer penumbral shadow until this time.

So remember -- for those of you in the Eastern Hemisphere at least -- don't expect to see a pink full moon on Thursday! Just enjoy the lunar eclipse in all it's greyish-white glory.

© 2012 iScience Times All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Join the Conversation

Sponsored From Around the Web

    ZergNet
Follow iScience Times
us on facebook RSS
 
us on google
 
Most Popular
Self-Control In Animals Linked To Brain Size; Chimps Have More Inhibitions Than Gerbils [VIDEO]
NASA Satellite LADEE Crashes Into The Moon Friday As Planned
Stem Cell Propagation In Bone Marrow Requires Hydrogen Sulfide
White Dwarf Star Magnifies Another Star’s Brightness: Einstein Thought It Couldn’t Be Observed
For Earth Day, NASA's 'Global Selfie' Campaign Seeks To Build Composite Image Of Our Ailing Planet
INSIDE iScience Times
Do Dolphins Get High? BBC Cameras Catch Dolphins Chewing On Pufferfish Toxins
Do Dolphins Get High? BBC Cameras Catch Dolphins Chewing On Pufferfish Toxins
How Many Ways Can You Tie A Tie?
How Many Ways Can You Tie A Tie?
Ribbon Of Charged Particles At Solar System's Edge Acts Like A Wind Sock For Interstellar Magnetism
Ribbon Of Charged Particles At Solar System's Edge Acts Like A Wind Sock For Interstellar Magnetism
How to Turn Your Tap Water Faucet  Into a Coffee Spout [VIDEO]
How to Turn Your Tap Water Faucet Into a Coffee Spout [VIDEO]
Coolest Science Photos Of 2013: From Blobfish To Two-Headed Shark, Comet ISON To Mars Selfie
Coolest Science Photos Of 2013: From Blobfish To Two-Headed Shark, Comet ISON To Mars Selfie
Research Shows Cats Are Rude; Can Recognize Their Owners Voice But Choose Not To Respond
Research Shows Cats Are Rude; Can Recognize Their Owners Voice But Choose Not To Respond